2023-2024 Teachers of the Year

Nineteen educators in the Glynn County School System who were named Teacher of the Year at their respective schools will now be considered in the process that will select Glynn County’s 2022-23 Teacher of the Year.

School-level Teachers of the Year are:

  • Katie Howard, FACES Prekindergarten Center/Leaps and Bounds;
  • Stacey Winter, Altama Elementary School;
  • Michaela Atkinson-Walker, Burroughs-Molette Elementary School;
  • Emily Morgan, Glyndale Elementary School;
  • Haley LeGrand, Golden Isles Elementary School;
  • Miranda Geiger, Goodyear Elementary School;
  • Barbara Peeler, Greer Elementary School;
  • Breanna Young, Oglethorpe Point Elementary School;
  • Staci Bennett, St. Simons Elementary School;
  • Taylor Priest, Satilla Marsh Elementary School;
  • Mary Ann Wellman, Sterling Elementary School;
  • Devan Rees, Glynn Middle School;
  • Octavia Cash, Jane Macon Middle School;
  • Victoria Ramirez, Needwood Middle School;
  • Natasha Donley, Risley Middle School;
  • Erica Johnston, Brunswick High School;
  • Chas Bumgardner, Glynn Academy;
  • Rachel Yeargan, Golden Isles Career Academy;
  • Heather Parent, Alternative Programs; and
  • Haley LeGrand, Special Education.

School-level Teachers of the Year were selected by their peers to represent their school in the county program. Finalists will be named from the school-level Teachers of the Year and a panel of retired educators will observe each finalist in his or her classroom before selecting the county Teacher of the Year.  The formal announcement will be made at a ceremony and reception in November.

The Glynn County Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Georgia Department of Education’s Teacher of the Year program. The educator selected acts as an ambassador for Georgia public school teachers, systems and students. The 2023-24 Georgia Teacher of the Year will be announced at a banquet in Atlanta next spring.